August Student Spotlight: Idia Aisien (NYU)

 

 

August Student Spotlight: Idia Aisien

New York University Student

EHS St. George Resident

 

 

 

1. What is your hometown?
I am originally from Lagos, Nigeria.

2. What school do you go to? What year?
This summer I started a master’s program in international PR at NYU.

3. Why did you decide to come to NYC for the summer? Have you always wanted to come?
I’ve dreamt of living in NYC since I was little. I heard it was as busy as my hometown in Lagos, but I knew it was not the same thing– people come from all over the world to live in New York, and I always knew I’d be one of them. I got accepted into NYU and I couldn’t wait for the Fall semester to move to New York so I decided to take summer classes as well.

4. How did you find out about EHS? What made you decide to book with EHS? What made you choose the St. George?
I am very particular about where I live, and I did not want to stay on campus like I did in college. I looked up suggestions for off-campus housing and I found the EHS website. I scheduled tours with some of the different buildings, and after visiting the St.George I knew I had to live here. The staff was very friendly, and there was something very warm and relaxing about the environment.

5. What do you like best about living with EHS and at the St. George so far?
I love the RAs and the different activities in the building, because I don’t remember being as cool as an RA in my college days. I also like how secure the building is, because they take our well-being very seriously.

6. What things about coming to NYC were/are you excited about? What were/are you worried about?
Initially I was really worried about where I would stay, because it was all very last minute when I moved here. Now I’m just hoping to take full advantage of the many things there are to do/see in this city.

7. What do you hope to get out of your time in NYC?
Right now, I’m taking a full course load, but I’m also hoping to get a great internship in my field and do some volunteer work.

8. What are you favorite things to do in NYC so far?
I like the Shape Up NYC fitness events, the nightlife, and hanging out in Times Square with my friends. I also love kayaking, I went for the first time with an RA and some people in my building– I made friends and it was so much fun, I’m going to do it again and again.

9. Anything else you’d like to share about yourself or your experience with EHS?
I would just like to say that your perspective is very important in everything you do. I love living at EHS and although it’s easy to be overwhelmed by daily activities and deadlines, it’s also important for me to take time for myself, and remember to take advantage of all the opportunities/great things there are to do here in NYC.

Leave a Reply

