July Student Spotlight: Katrina Brown

July Student Spotlight: Katrina Brown
Samford University Student
Intern at Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation

Homewood, Alabama-native Katrina Brown is a rising senior at Samford University, located in Birmingham, and living at EHS’s 1760 Third Avenue residence this summer while enjoying once-in-a-lifetime experience interning at the Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation.

This is Katrina’s second summer living with Educational Housing Services (she lived at the Marymount Manhattan location last year); she touts the ease with which she’s been able to meet fellow interns as one of her favorite things about living with EHS.

Read on to find out more about Katrina and her unforgettable summer in NYC!..

What school do you go to? What year? Do you have an internship, and if so where is it?

Samford University. Rising senior. I am an intern with Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation’s Arts in Education department, and I love everything about it from the people I work with to the dance classes I am given the opportunity to take.

Why did you decide to come to NYC for the summer? Have you always wanted to come?

I was actually in NYC last summer as well and had an incredible experience. Alabama, as my “Sweet Home,” definitely holds a place in my heart, but there’s something about the fast-paced, busy atmosphere of this city that had me missing NYC all year!

How did you find out about EHS? What made you decide to book with EHS? What made you choose   1760?

I also luckily found EHS last summer when I lived in the Marymount Residence! I attribute a large part of my wonderful experience last summer to the people I met through EHS, so there was no way I was looking to live anywhere else! I chose 1760 this summer because I knew that I’d get a totally different experience living on the Upper East Side than I did living in midtown. And for the sweet gym, of course.

What do you like best about living with EHS and at 1760 so far?

The best thing to me about living in EHS is the chance to meet the really unique people living with me! Within the first week, I’d met a few inspiring and intelligent guys working with some of the top accounting firms and banks in the country, another three people working in the music industry who collectively have the most swagger of anyone I’ve met, people working in architecture who I learn something new from every time we explore the city, two of my closest friends working in marketing at Disney and IMG… and then of course my roommate working on the business side of Broadway, and my neighbor, who helps plan the coolest weddings in New York City. I just don’t know if I’d get the opportunity to be around such brilliant minds and warm hearts anywhere else, so I consider myself WAY lucky!

What things about coming to NYC were/are you excited about? What were/are you worried about?

I was definitely excited for all the opportunities to dance and do a little fitness and print modeling, and I haven’t been disappointed! I was slightly worried that my amazing experience last summer would be hard to beat, but I definitely haven’t been disappointed on that front either – the summer of 2012 has been beyond incredible for me.

What do you hope to get out of your time in NYC?

Professionally, I hope to be rejuvenated and inspired by all of the dancing I’ve been able to observe and participate in, and I hope to be able to bring that energy back to my own dance students in Alabama. Personally, I hope to make lasting friendships and maintain the connections of the awesome people I’ve been around up here. I definitely think I’m on the right track!

What are you favorite things to do in NYC so far?

As much as I love working, taking dance classes, Sunday scones trips, finding random free things to do all week, and going out in the Meatpacking District and Lower East Side, I think my favorite weekly tradition has to be what we call “Family Dinner.” Each Sunday night, all of my friends and I meet up on the ninth floor, dining and laughing together, and generally having an awesome end to the weekend. There’s something about watching the sunset over hilarious conversation in and about New York City.

Thanks to Katrina for taking a few minutes out of her busy and exciting schedule to catch up with EHS! Watch this space to meet our next Student Spotlight!

Leave a Reply

